ICELAND – Country structure

Size: 103.000 sq. km.

Capital: Reykjavik

Population: 338,349 (31. Dec. 2016)

Language:  Icelandic

Eight ministries are responsible for the central administration.

The basic administrational units in Iceland are municipalities (local government).  The country is divided into 74 municipalities. Local governments maintain basic physical infrastructure as well as some of the social infrastructure at the local level (i.e. primary education, primary welfare).  Local governments co-operate widely on a regional and on a national basis.

Síðast uppfært: 10. apríl 2017 klukkan 14:07